The swan-song. Mercedes-AMG Motorsport says goodbye to DTM. One more race left

1.8K 0

The end is near, Mercedes is singing its swan-song in DTM. The Mercedes-AMG Motorsport DTM cars are set to start in the final race this upcoming weekend in Hockenheim.

In April 1988, Mercedes joined its first DTM as a wroks team. That year, it also achieved its first victory in the competition, with Danny Snobeck winning the race in Nurburgring.

Mercedes accounted 35 victories, turning into the most successful brand at Hockenheim, there were Paul Di Resta, Gary Paffett, Edoardo Mortara, Lucas Auer, Pascal Wehrlein, Daniel Juncadella and Ulrich Fritz are driving their final race under the Mercedes umbrella.

““This is it. The finale is already approaching. It’s kind of sad to think that this is our last race weekend as a team, but all these stories come to an end”, says Paul Di Resta, before driving his Mercedes-AMG C 63 DTM for the last time for the German car maker.

Meanwhile, 31-year old Italian Edoardo Mortara is preparing for what seems to be the final race in DTM for him: “You should never say never, but right now it looks very much like it. That’s why I want to do well at Hockenheim, on a track where I’ve always been pretty successful.”

Former Formula 1 driver, young Pascal Wehrlein is also sad that things are coming to an end: “It’s hard to believe that we’re going back to Hockenheim already and that the season is almost over. In the grand finale, I will be going all out to end the season on a high. The two races at Hockenheim will not just be the last two races for Mercedes in the DTM but also my last two races as a Mercedes driver.”

Ulrich Fritz is amazed how fast the few last months have gone by since Mercedes made the announcement on the team’s plans to quit the competition and focus its resources on Formula E: “At Hockenheim we have the chance to conclude this magnificent chapter in our motor racing history by scooping all three titles. We already wrapped up the manufacturers’ and team championships at Spielberg.”

The manufacturer’s title has already been accounted by Mercedes, but the for the seventh time. But the team title number 14 is still up for grabs. Also Mercedes-AMG Motorsport teams are in for it.