Safety first! Takata recall has impact on Daimler as well

1.84K 0

The products of the airbag manufacturer Takata has been pointed out as defective in early May, when the US National Highway Traffic Safety Administration disclosed that the malfunction affects cars in the US and Canada as well. Daimler puts safety first and decided to do a major recall.

The issue has determined a massive recall worldwide, as 35 to 40 million airbags inflators of cars from 14 car makers, must be replaced until 2019. The number comes in addition to the 28.8 millions already replaced. All of them are supposed to lack the drying agent, but no Mercedes-Benz vehicle has been pointed out as featuring the problem. Daimler is though considers the customers’ safety a top priority and has decided on the major call to make sure everything is all right inside the cockpits of their vehicles. Certain front-passenger airbags from Takata are installed in vehicles sold by subsidiaris of Daimler Group in the United States and Canada.

Consequently, Daimler AG will recognize a provision in the mid hundreds of million euros in the financial year 2016 in North America. Still, the anticipated expense shall not affect earning from the onging business year and will be reported separately.

The recall procedure has been accelerated after a 17-year-old girl from Texas, driving a 2002 Honda Civic, was named as the 10th victim of the defective airbag in the U.S.. Her death is attributed to the shrapnel from the exploding airbag.

Last year, NHTSA imposed a record civil penalty of up to $200 million on Takata.

Check out the list of the models that bear a possibly defective Takata airbag. If your car is on the list, contact your local dealer immediately.

 2005 C230 Kompressor
2006-2007 C230
2008-2011 C300
2008-2011 C300 4Matic
2005 C320
2006-2011 C350
2009-2011 Mercedes-Benz C63 AMG
2010-2011 E350
2010-2011 E350 4Matic
2011 E350 Cabriolet
2010-2011 E550
2010-2011 E550 4Matic
2011 E550 Cabriolet
2010-2011 E63 AMG
2009-2010 GL320 BlueTec 4Matic
2011-2012 GL350 BlueTec 4Matic
2009-2012 GL450 4Matic
2009-2012 GL550 4Matic
2010-2012 GLK350
2010-2012 GLK350 4Matic
2009-2010 ML320 BlueTec 4Matic
2009-2011 ML350
2009-2011 ML350 4Matic
2010-2011 ML450 4Matic Hybrid
2009-2011 ML550 4Matic
2009-2011 ML63 AMG
2007-2008 SLK280
2007-2008 SLK350
2007-2008 SLK55 AMG
2011-2014 SLS AMG
2012 SLS AMG Cabriolet
2013-2014 SLS AMG GT
2009-2010 R320 CDI 4Matic
2009-2012 R350 4Matic
2011-2012 R350 BlueTec 4Matic