What Is the Penalty for a First Time DUI in Colorado?

,
476 0

DUI standard penalties vary from state to state. In Colorado, a first-time DUI offense isn’t something that you can take lightly. According to Weber Law – Denver DUI Lawyers, the standard penalties that you may face for a first-time DUI conviction in Colorado will depend on your blood alcohol levels.

It doesn’t matter if it’s your first DUI conviction in Colorado, if you have other drunk driving convictions in other states, it will add to the penalties. If you find yourself in this situation, contact a DUI lawyer right away so that you can prepare your case adequately in the hopes of receiving a lighter punishment or having the charges dropped. Here is everything you need to know about first-time DUI offense punishments in Colorado.

First-Time DUI Penalties Colorado

In Colorado, a DUI is marked as a misdemeanor offense, which is a lesser crime than a felony. A conviction for a first-time DUI in Colorado can include:

  • From 5 days or up to one year in jail
  • A fine between $600 to $1,000 plus court costs
  • License revocation for nine months
  • Community service between 48 and 96 hours
  • Two years of probation
  • Alcohol education classes

 

You can be charged with a DUI conviction in Colorado if you have a BAC level of 0.08 or higher, and in some instances, even if it is below 0.08. If you wish to refuse chemical tests while your driving ability is impaired, you can also be charged with a DUI.

 

If your BAC levels are higher than 0.08, you can be convicted of DUI Per Se. If you can’t stop the conviction, both the DUI and DUI Per Se sentences will run concurrently. A first offense can lead to two years probation, between $200 to $500 in fines, 24 to 48 hours of public service, and between 2 and 180 days of jail time.

 

If you are convicted of a second DUI charge in Colorado after more than five years, you may face ten days jail time, or one year, between 2 to 4 years of probation, pay between $600 to $1,500 in fines and perform 48 to 120 hours of public service.

 

A second DUI offense in Colorado within five years carries the same consequences and penalties. However, in all cases, you have to consider that you may also face administrative and criminal penalties.

They are based on your prior criminal and administrative DUI convictions and the number of points on your driving record. These penalties are handled by the DMV. For a first-time DUI criminal conviction, you may face nine months of suspension or revocation of license, and have twelve points assessed.

Why You Will Need a DUI Lawyer

DUI convictions in Colorado are pretty harsh and can affect your life for a long period of time. Because of this, it is essential to ask for legal help. Contact a DUI lawyer in Colorado as soon as possible.

Although first-time DUI offenses have harsh penalties, it’s still the only time you were convicted and you can use this in your favor. A lawyer can properly analyze your case and have the charges dropped or fight so that you receive lesser punishments. The methods by which BAC levels are established are often inaccurate, and your lawyer can use this to your advantage, among other tactics.