Three Mercedes-Benz models in the running for World Car of the Year award

2.13K 0

The finalists for the 2015 World Car of the Year award have been announced. Among the nominees are  not one, but three Mercedes-Benz models.

Prior to the New York ceremony, we will find out which are the top three finalists in all award categories at the Geneva Motor Show on March 3. However, until then, let’s meet the current finalists of each category elected by the jury of 75 international automotive journalists.

World Car of the Year World Luxury Car World Performance Car
BMW 2 Series Active Tourer BMW i8 Audi S1
Citroen C4 Cactus BMW X6 Audi S3
Ford Mustang Cadillac ATS Coupe Audi TT/TTS
Hyundai Genesis Cadillac Escalade Bentley Continental GT Speed
Jeep Renegade Kia K900 BMW M4 Coupe/M3 Sedan
Mazda2 Lexus NX Corvette Z06
Mercedes-Benz C-Class Lexus RC Dodge Challenger SRT Hellcat
Mini 5 door/3door Lincoln MKC Jaguar F-Type R Coupe
Nissan Qashqai Mercedes-Benz S-Class Coupe Lexus RC-F
Volkswagen Passat Range Rover Autobiography Black LWB Mercedes-Benz AMG GT
World Car Design World Green Car
BMW 2 Series Active Tourer BMW i8
Citroen C4 Cactus Hyundai ix35/Tucson Fuel Cell
Mercedes-Benz C-Class Kia Soul EV
Porsche Macan Volvo XC90 T8 Twin Engine
Volvo XC90 Volkswagen Golf GTE


The top category, the 2015 World Car of the Year title, is predictably also the most disputed. The lucky finalist are the BMW 2 Series Active Tourer, Citroen C4 Cactus, Ford Mustang, Hyundai Genesis, Jeep Renegade, Mazda2, Mercedes-Benz C-Class, Mini, Nissan Qashqai, Volskwagen Passat.

Moving on to the cars in the running for the World Luxury Car category, the list includes ten models: BMW i8, BMW X6, Cadillac ATS Coupe, Cadillac Escalade, Kia K900, Lexus NX, Lexus RC, Lincoln MKC, Mercedes-Benz S-Class Coupe and Range Rover. This category “acknowledges higher-priced premium models selling in more limited numbers worldwide”.

For the 2015 World Car Design of the Year, this year’s finalists are the BMW 2 Series Active Tourer, Citroen C4 Cactus, Mercedes-Benz C-Class, Porsche Macan and Volvo XC90.

World Green Car will be elected from one of the following nominees: BMW i8, Hyundai ix35 Fuel Cell, Kia Soul EV, Volvo XC90 T8 Twin-Engine and Volkswagen Golf GTE.

Finally, for the World Performance Car award final the jurors elected the Audi S1, Audi S3, Audi TT/TTS, Bentley Continental GT Speed, BMW M3/M4, Corvette Z06, Dodge Challenger SRT Hellcat, Jaguar F-Type R Coupe, Lexus RC-F and, of course, the Mercedes-Benz AMG GT.

Last year, the Audi A3 was crowned 2014 World Car of the Year, surpassing 23 other cars, including the BMW 4-Series, BMW i3, Cadillac CTS, Citroen C4 Picasso, Ford Fusion / Mondeo, Infiniti Q50, Jeep Cherokee, Lexus IS, Mazda3, Peugeot 308 and Skoda Octavia.