Mercedes’ Valtteri Bottas wins the Austrian Grand Prix

Spielberg, Austria
2.46K 0

It was a home success in Austria for the Mercedes-AMG PETRONAS squad led by Austrians Toto Wolff and Niki Lauda. Starting from pole, Valtteri Bottas won the race, while Lewis Hamilton finished right outside the podium.

Valtteri Bottas thundered his way at the lead of the race, while Sebastian Vettel compalined the Fin had skipped the start. „It was the start of my life”, Bottas was to say at the end of the race. Several positions behind, Daniel Kvyat caused a terrible collision, taking both unlucky Fernando Alonso and Max Verstappen out of the race. For the young Dutch, it was the 5th retirement in 9 races of the season.

Austrian Grand Prix (5)

Starting from the 8th position of the grid due to a penalty for a gear box change, Lewis Hamilton started hunting the drivers at the front.

Bottas remains on the racetrack until lap 42, changing from ultra softs to super softs and exchanges positions with Raikkone, the Ferrari driver getting the leading spot. That’s only until he goes into pits to change tires as well and Bottas gets his position back, followed by Sebastian Vettel and Daniel Ricciardo.

Austrian Grand Prix (8)

With two laps to go, Lewis Hamilton attacks the Red Bull Aussie and almost overtakes him, but Ricciardo manages to hold on. At the front, the Brit’s teammate has trouble with Vettell, who is less than a second behind him. It’s not going to happen for the German, so Valtteri Bottas wins his second Grand Prix behind the wheel of the Mercedes racing car, followed by Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel and Daniel Ricciardo. The 3-time world champion Lewis Hamilton has to settle for the fourth spot in Austria.

Formula 1 shall resume next weekend at Silverstone!

Photo source:

Pos No Driver Car Laps Time/Retired Pts
1 77 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 71 1:21:48.523 25
2 5 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 71 +0.658s 18
3 3 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing TAG Heuer 71 +6.012s 15
4 44 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 71 +7.430s 12
5 7 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 71 +20.370s 10
6 8 Romain Grosjean Haas Ferrari 71 +73.160s 8
7 11 Sergio Perez Force India Mercedes 70 +1 lap 6
8 31 Esteban Ocon Force India Mercedes 70 +1 lap 4
9 19 Felipe Massa Williams Mercedes 70 +1 lap 2
10 18 Lance Stroll Williams Mercedes 70 +1 lap 1
11 30 Jolyon Palmer Renault 70 +1 lap 0
12 2 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren Honda 70 +1 lap 0
13 27 Nico Hulkenberg Renault 70 +1 lap 0
14 94 Pascal Wehrlein Sauber Ferrari 70 +1 lap 0
15 9 Marcus Ericsson Sauber Ferrari 69 +2 laps 0
16 26 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso 68 +3 laps 0
NC 55 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso 44 DNF 0
NC 20 Kevin Magnussen Haas Ferrari 29 DNF 0
NC 14 Fernando Alonso McLaren Honda 1 DNF 0
NC 33 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing TAG Heuer 0 DNF 0