Mercedes-Benz SSKL Avus racing car, ready for the spotlight at the Goodwood Festival of Speed

1.68K 0

The Festival of Speed opens its doors on the 4th of July at Goodwood and Mercedes-Benz Classic and Mercedes-AMG are sending out the crown’s jewels to march at the noble event. The revolutionary 1932 Mercedes-Benz SSKL Avus racing car will be there.

The Mercedes-Benz SSKL, driven by Manfren von Brauchitsch won the Avus race in Berlin, on the 22nd of May 1932. Today, the racing car provides the sensational insight into the history of motorsport. The car is the link between the so-called White Elephants of the Mercedes-Benz S series (W 06), coming in the late 1920s, and the beginning of the Silver Arrows.

Goodwood Festival of Speed (3)

The Avus racing car, built by Mercedes-Benz Classic to match the authentic unit, will be celebrating its world premiere at the Goodwood Festival of Speed. The actual project began six months ago only, so it had to meet a very tight deadline.

There will be a total of 13 vehicles at Goodwood in July.

Daimler two-cylinder V-engine (1894)
Period of use: 1889 to 1896
Cylinders: 2/arranged in V formation
Displacement: Up to 1,646 cc
Output: Up to 2.75 kW (3.75 hp)

Benz 200 hp record-setting Blitzen Benz (1909)
Period of use: 1909 to 1922
Cylinders: 4/in-line
Displacement: 21,504 cc
Output: 147 kW (200 hp)
Top speed: 228 km/h

Mercedes-Benz SSKL Avus racing car (W 06, 1932)
Period of use: 1932
Cylinders: 6/in-line
Displacement: 7,065 cc
Output: 177 kW (240 hp), with supercharger 221 kW (300 hp)
Top speed: 235 km/h

Mercedes-Benz 750 kg W 25 racing car (1934)
Period of use: 1934 to 1936
Cylinders: 8/in-line
Displacement: 3,360 to 4,740 cc
Output: 260 kW (354 hp) to 363 kW (494 hp)
Top speed: Approx. 300 km/h

Mercedes-Benz 750 kg W 125 racing car (1937)
Period of use: 1937
Cylinders: 8/in-line
Displacement: 5,663 cc
Output: Up to 435 kW (592 hp)
Top speed: 320 km/h

Mercedes-Benz 1.5 litre W 165 racing car (1939)
Period of use: 1939
Cylinders: V8
Displacement: 1,493 cc Max.
output: 187 kW (254 hp)
Top speed: 272 km/h

Mercedes-Benz Formula One W 196 R racing car (1955)
Period of use: 1954 to 1955
Cylinders: 8/in-line
Displacement: 2,497 cc
Output: 188 kW (256 hp) to 213 kW (290 hp)
Top speed: Up to 300 km/h

Mercedes-Benz 300 SLR (W 196 S, 1955)
Period of use: 1955
Cylinders: 8/in-line
Displacement: 2,982 cc
Output: 222 kW (302 hp)
Top speed: More than 300 km/h

Sauber Mercedes C 9 Group C racing sports car (1989)
Period of use: 1989 to 1990
Cylinders: V8
Displacement: 4,973 cc
Output: 530 kW (720 hp)
Top speed: 400 km/h

Mercedes-Benz 190 E 2.5-16 Evolution II DTM touring car (W 201, 1992)
Period of use: 1990 to 1993
Cylinders: 4/in-line
Displacement: 2,463 cc
Output: 173 kW (235 hp)
Top speed: Approx. 250 km/h

McLaren Mercedes MP4/13 Formula One racing car (1998)
Period of use: 1998
Cylinders: V10
Displacement: 2,998 cc
Power: 574 kW (780 hp)
Top speed: 352 km/h

Mercedes-AMG F1 W09 EQ Power+ Formula One racing car (2018)
Period of use: 2018
Formula One Constructorsʼ Championship: World Champion
Formula One Driversʼ Championship: Lewis Hamilton – World Champion
Formula One Driversʼ Championship: Valtteri Bottas – 5th place
Wins: 11
Double wins: 4
Pole positions: 13
Podium finishes: 25

Mercedes-AMG C 63 DTM (C 205, 2018)
Period of use: 2016 to 2018
Cylinders: V8
Displacement: 4,000 cc
Output: 360 kW (500 hp)
Top speed: 280 km/h