Lucky stars in Singapore for Mercedes. Lewis Hamilton wins after starting 5th

Singapore Grand Prix
1.73K 2

Sparks came out in Singapore, as three the first three drivers crashed into each other and had to step out right after start. The Mercedes-AMG PETRONAS drivers Lewis Hamilton and Valtteri Bottas had their lucky stars on the Singaporean night: they finished first, third respectively.

The FIA refused to give up on the show and have a start under Safety Car, even though they had the first ever wet night race in front of them. It turned out to be a big mistake, as the two Ferrari’s and Max Verstappen’s Red Bull crashed into each other.

Kimi Raikkonen and Sebastian Vettel sandwiched the young Dutch driver. Verstappen and Raikkonen retired that very instant, while Vettel span on the track moments later and the race ended for him as well. Meanwhile, Lewis Hamilton, who had escaped the chaos in front of him, was enjoying his ride, passing them all and marching ahead into the lead position.

Singapore Grand Prix (11)

The Torro Rosso driver Daniil Kvyat also ended his race brutally in the tire wall. The race director decided to stop the delayed race at the 2-hour time limit, so laps stopped being counted. Only 12 drivers managed to cross the finish line of the Singapore Grand Prix.

Doom or blessing, Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo finished second once again, while Hamilton’s teammate, the driver who has just signed his 2018 contract with Mercedes, came into the third position of the podium.

Formula 1 shall resume in Malaysia in two weeks’ time.

Singapore Grand Prix (13)

Pos No Driver Car Laps Time/Retired Pts
1 44 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 58 2:03:23.544 0
2 3 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing TAG Heuer 58 +4.507s 0
3 77 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 58 +8.800s 0
4 55 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso 58 +22.822s 0
5 11 Sergio Perez Force India Mercedes 58 +25.359s 0
6 30 Jolyon Palmer Renault 58 +27.259s 0
7 2 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren Honda 58 +30.388s 0
8 18 Lance Stroll Williams Mercedes 58 +41.696s 0
9 8 Romain Grosjean Haas Ferrari 58 +43.282s 0
10 31 Esteban Ocon Force India Mercedes 58 +44.795s 0
11 19 Felipe Massa Williams Mercedes 58 +46.536s 0
12 94 Pascal Wehrlein Sauber Ferrari 56 +2 laps 0
NC 20 Kevin Magnussen Haas Ferrari 50 DNF 0
NC 27 Nico Hulkenberg Renault 48 DNF 0
NC 9 Marcus Ericsson Sauber Ferrari 35 DNF 0
NC 26 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso 10 DNF 0
NC 14 Fernando Alonso McLaren Honda 8 DNF 0
NC 5 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 0 DNF 0
NC 33 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing TAG Heuer 0 DNF 0
NC 7 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 0 DNF 0