Gain and loss for Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport at the Hungarian Grand Prix

2.1K 0

Lewis Hamilton won the Hungarian Grand Prix, but it wasn’t all perfect for Mercedes-AMG Petronas at Hungaroring. Valtteri Bottas faltered for the last laps and failed to reach the podium. The stewards are investigating his mistakes that led to two crashes.

Starting from pole, Lewis Hamilton easily maintained his position at the top 24 hours later. The Brit drive thus cruised towards his 67th win. Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen kept him company on the podium.

Hamilton controlled the race form one end to another, as his W09 performed impeccably, helping him add more points to his lead, now reaching 25.

Hungarian Grand Prix (5)

Mercedes looked as if they were ready for a new one-two finish. But six laps to the end, Vettel engaged his DRS to pass Valtteri into Turn 1. The Finn was not going to just let his position go, so he charged back into Turn 2, but smashed into the German driver. Kimi Raikkonen also passed right through, while Bottas dropped to the fourth spot. A damage wound made his Silver Arrow lose balance on the track and more came on to him.

Daniel Ricciardo, having started from P12, closed in on Bottas, and, while he was attempting to overtake the Finn, the Mercedes driver failed to keep his car under control and crashed into him as well.

Hungarian Grand Prix (2)

Mercedes has time to celebrate and lick wounds for the next three weeks, during the summer break. The Formula 1 will resume at the Spa-Francorchamps, with the Belgian Grand Prix, on August 26th. Up until then, Lewis Hamilton stays at the lead of the overall ranking with 213 points, followed by Sebastian Vettel with 189. Kimi Raikkonen is third with 146.

Pos No Driver Car Laps Time/Retired Pts
1 44 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 70 1:37:16.427 0
2 5 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 70 +17.123s 0
3 7 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 70 +20.101s 0
4 3 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing TAG Heuer 70 +46.419s 0
5 77 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 70 +50.000s 0
6 10 Pierre Gasly Scuderia Toro Rosso Honda 70 +73.273s 0
7 20 Kevin Magnussen Haas Ferrari 69 +1 lap 0
8 14 Fernando Alonso McLaren Renault 69 +1 lap 0
9 55 Carlos Sainz Renault 69 +1 lap 0
10 8 Romain Grosjean Haas Ferrari 69 +1 lap 0
11 28 Brendon Hartley Scuderia Toro Rosso Honda 69 +1 lap 0
12 27 Nico Hulkenberg Renault 69 +1 lap 0
13 31 Esteban Ocon Force India Mercedes 69 +1 lap 0
14 11 Sergio Perez Force India Mercedes 69 +1 lap 0
15 9 Marcus Ericsson Sauber Ferrari 68 +2 laps 0
16 35 Sergey Sirotkin Williams Mercedes 68 +2 laps 0
17 18 Lance Stroll Williams Mercedes 68 +2 laps 0
NC 2 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren Renault 49 DNF 0
NC 33 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing TAG Heuer 5 DNF 0
NC 16 Charles Leclerc Sauber Ferrari 0 DNF 0