Canada F1: Hamilton goes back to leading

2.41K 0

In the end of a race in which the nail-biting for the first spot was flatly missing, Lewis Hamilton bears out once more his position in the team and wins ahead of Nico Rosberg. Valtteri Bottas takes advantage of Raikkonen’s errors and climbs up the podium for the very first time in 2015.

Hamilton manages to put away the Monte Carlo disillusion and proves he is the best, right where he had to do it, on the racetrack. Rosberg seemed he was running for the first spot right after his first pit, but Lewis always found the right counterpart. His prompt reactions when Nico was closing in, shows he fully ruled the roost when he is in the leading position, despite all the issues he reported to the pits. If for the leader, the main reported problem was fuel saving, for Nico a braking overwearing. Eventually, nothing could help the German close in and the race became a typical one for Mercedes. A double for the Brackley squad and things seem to be coming back to normal. With the victory in Montreal, Lewis Hamilton became the British driver with the highest number of laps at the lead, getting beyond Nigel Mansell.

The podium was rounded up by Bottas, as the Finn managed to climb up there for the first time in 2015. His run was eased on down by an ineffective race performed by Raikkonen. The Ferrari driver made a spin exactly when Bottas was pitting and wasted enough time to shatter his hopes for the 3rd spot. 4.9 seconds behind Raikkonen, there finishes Sebastian Vettel, after a race that started in the 18th position for him. Even though he lost some extra 5 seconds at the first pit, Vettel made his way among the rest of the racing cars and finished in the unhoped for 5th spot.

In the 6th position came Felipe Massa, another ill-fated of the qualifying session, while Pastor Maldonado finished 7th, managing to score his first points this season. Hulkenberg ends the Canadian GP in the 8th place, ahead of Daniil Kvyat and Romain Grosjean, last driver scoring. The French from Lotus could have finished higher up in the ranking, but a silly incident with Will Stevens meant an unforeseen pit-stop and a 5-second penalty.

Unlike his teammate, Sergio Perez was not able to score points, coming in the 11th position, way behind Grojean. Sainz did not do any better, his Renault propeller fining the Red Bull and Torro Rosso performance. Therefore, Sainz finishes 12th, Daniel Ricciardo comes 13th and Max Verstappen hardly in the 15th position. Ericsson breaks the Red Bull trio, while Nasr settles for the 16th position, ahead of the last driver to cross the finish line, Will Stevens.

Mclaren-Honda is living a brand-new nightmare, as the Woking team was bound to retire both cars from the race due to exhaust system malfunctions. Frustration came out as Alonso was required to save on the fuel. The Spaniard had a rough reply: “I don’t want to! I don’t want to! I already have enough big problems now. I am driving this car looking like an amateur. I want to race and after that concentrate on the fuel.”


1Lewis HamiltonMercedes1h31m53.145s
2Nico RosbergMercedes2.285s
3Valtteri BottasWilliams/Mercedes40.666s
4Kimi RaikkonenFerrari45.625s
5Sebastian VettelFerrari49.903s
6Felipe MassaWilliams/Mercedes56.381s
7Pastor MaldonadoLotus/Mercedes1m06.664s
8Nico HulkenbergForce India/Mercedes1 Lap
9Daniil KvyatRed Bull/Renault1 Lap
10Romain GrosjeanLotus/Mercedes1 Lap
11Sergio PerezForce India/Mercedes1 Lap
12Carlos SainzToro Rosso/Renault1 Lap
13Daniel RicciardoRed Bull/Renault1 Lap
14Marcus EricssonSauber/Ferrari1 Lap
15Max VerstappenToro Rosso/Renault1 Lap
16Felipe NasrSauber/Ferrari2 Laps
17Will StevensMarussia/Ferrari4 Laps
-Roberto MerhiMarussia/FerrariRetirement
-Jenson ButtonMcLaren/HondaRetirement
-Fernando AlonsoMcLaren/HondaRetirement
1Lewis Hamilton151
2Nico Rosberg134
3Sebastian Vettel108
4Kimi Raikkonen72
5Valtteri Bottas57
6Felipe Massa47
7Daniel Ricciardo35
8Daniil Kvyat19
9Romain Grosjean17
10Felipe Nasr16
11Sergio Perez11
12Nico Hulkenberg10
13Carlos Sainz9
14Max Verstappen6
15Pastor Maldonado6
16Marcus Ericsson5
17Jenson Button4
18Fernando Alonso0
19Roberto Merhi0
20Will Stevens0
4Red Bull/Renault54
7Force India/Mercedes21
8Toro Rosso/Renault15