All-new Mercedes-Benz GLE fights for the 2019 World Car Of The Year award

2.12K 1

The contenders for the 2019 World Car of the Year award have been announced. Among the nominees we also find the all-new Mercedes-Benz GLE. The title will be awarded according to tradition at the New York Motor Show on April 19th.

The jury will meet at the Paris Auto Show next month to announce the first eligible cars list. The second step towards the final is the announcement of the top ten nominees for the top prize and top five for the other categories after the first round of test drives in LA, programmed for November. Then, prior to the New York ceremony next April, we will find out which are the top three finalists in all award categories at the Geneva Motor Show in March 2019.

However, until then, let’s meet the current eligible model of each category (top prize, Luxury, Performance, Green, and Urban categories) elected by the jury of 75 international automotive journalists.

World Luxury Car of the Year
Audi A7
Audi Q8
BMW 8 Series
Mercedes-Benz GLE
Volkswagen Touareg

Official: the new Mercedes GLE – option for 7 seats and innovative active suspension

World Car of the Year
Acura RDX
Audi e-tron
Audi A1
Audi A6
Audi Q3
BMW 3 Series
BMW i8 Roadster
Cadillac XT4
Citroen C5 Aircross
Dacia Duster
Ford Focus
Honda Clarity Plug-In Hybrid
Hyundai Santa Fe
Hyundai Nexo
Infiniti QX50
Jaguar E-Pace
Jaguar I-Pace
Jeep Cherokee
Jeep Wrangler
Kia Ceed/Forte
Kia Niro EV
Kia Soul
Lexus ES
Lexus UX
Nissan Altima
Nissan Kicks
SEAT Arona
Subaru Forester
Suzuki Jimny
Toyota Avalon
Toyota Corolla
Toyota RAV4
Volvo S60/V60
Volvo XC40

World Performance Car of the Year
Aston Martin Vantage
BMW M2 Competition
Hyundai Veloster N
Kia Ceed GT
McLaren 720S

World Green Car of the Year
Audi e-tron
BMW i8 Roadster
Honda Clarity Plug-In Hybrid
Honda Insight
Hyundai Nexo
Jaguar I-PACE
Kia Niro EV
Lexus ES Hybrid
Lexus UX Hybrid
Toyota Avalon Hybrid
Toyota RAV4 Hybrid

World Urban Car of the Year
Audi A1
Kia Soul
SEAT Arona
Suzuki Jimny

To be eligible, competing cars must be marketed in at least five countries, from at least two continents, but not earlier than January 1, 2019. The jury includes 75 experienced car journalists representing profile publications from 23 countries , worldwide. Most of them come from North America, Europe, Asia and Russia.

The WCOTY Trophy does not coincide with the European Car of the Year, awarded every year in Europe and won in 2018 by the new Volvo XC40.

One Comment

  • João Carlos Rica Costa says:

    good morning; aparently the new gle is not in any of the eligible lists… do you know what happened?